Archive | March 20, 2013

Balance is an illusion – Go with the flow

Balance in nature is a myth. Equinox lasts a minute and then it moves again. As pagans we talk a lot about seeking balance but in reality it does not exist and indeed, stasis equals death.

Nature is always moving. The planets, no matter what they appear to be doing are always moving and are always moving forward. There are no retrogrades. They only look that way to our sight.

All living things move. Their hearts beat. Their lungs move. Blood and sap flows and water moves through their tissues.

So our reverence for seeking balance when none exists is misguided. Stasis and stagnation and non-movement are death. And even then nature abhors a vacuum and things will start carting you off to be used and recycled.

So why do we seek non-movement or balance. Someone sold us a bill of goods. Newton realized it wasn’t real, See the laws of thermodynamics. Humans have some illusion that if they somehow seek balance their lives will be smoother. They won’t be but we still seek something and the very seeking for that balance is a stressor we don’t need. Instead, how about moving with the flow? Life flows and you can either let it batter you or you can swim with the current, even stagnant ponds don’t stay stagnant they progress to become meadows.

I think it’s better to see where the flow in your life is going and go with it. I’m not talking about trying to fit in or follow someone else’s flow. I’m saying, find the current in your own river and stop fighting the flood. Stop trying to be balanced and seek movement in your life and do not stop. Bend with the wind and move with the flow.

A Vernal Prayer

I ask blessing of the first egg from which the world is born.

Blessing from the eggs of birds

Blessing from the eggs of snakes

Blessing from the egg of the sacred ibis

We see the birth of the spring reflected in the eyes of the sacred rabbit

Who defines being. *

I see the blessings of the season in the flowers of fruit trees

I see the blessing of the season in the fresh shoots of green on hillsides

I see the blessings of the season in the dancing flights of paired birds

I see the blessing of the season in the play of two squirrels

I see the blessing of the season in the turning of damp fertile soil

I see the blessing of the season in the taste of spring berries

I see the blessings of the season in the glory of spring bulbs bursting into flower

I see the blessing of the season in the colours of the reborn land

I see the blessing of the season in the quickening of life around me

.

May I see those blessings and give thanks for them, every day and every night

From dawn to twilight and around the sun’s progession about the earth.

I see and ask and give thanks for the blessings of spring.

*The rabbit hieroglyph is the Egyptian verb ‘to be’.