Archive | March 23, 2013

Out playing

Last night my brain decided to have some recreational fun and I dreamed I had to fly a Cessna 150 to rescue Marie Antoinette and her pal Louis.  Now I don’t fly and I have no idea if there is such a plane as a Cessna 150 so it was an interesting night.

Today we spent the day at the Sepulveda Wildlife Refuge. The Army Corp of Rat Bastard Engineers really laid a path of destruction out there. It’s mating season and there wasn’t a single ground squirrel or bunny. Absolutely heart breaking.

There were lots of birds and I had fun breaking in my new camera. I’m still not happy with the colour saturation but I hope that will come. I love the tracking focus feature and got a couple of great pics of birds in motion and we discovered that what we thought were rocks on bird island were really tons of huge turtles. I’m going to love the 23x zoom feature too

Isiopolis

Plutarch, in his essay on Isis and Osiris, mentions an Egyptian festival that he says marked the beginning of spring and which was called The Entry of Osiris into the Moon. Here’s what he says:

Further, on the first day of the month of Phamenoth they hold a festival, which they call Entry of Osiris into the Moon, for it is the beginning of spring. Thus they locate the power of Osiris in the moon and say that Isis, as the creative principle, has intercourse with him. For this reason they also call the moon the mother of the world and they believe her nature to be both male and female since she is filled and made pregnant by the sun while she herself in turn projects and disseminates procreative elements in the air. (Plutarch, On Isis and Osiris, 43)

In his discussion of this passage, J. Gwyn Griffiths (have I…

View original post 474 more words