May Day Memory

So many things lately have come up between my sister and I that I’m realizing we were really raised by 2 different sets of parents in the same body. She is 10 years younger than me and I was the eldest until my little brother came along a year and a half later and then my sister eight years later. We were raised in different houses and in different neighborhoods because we moved when she was 9 months old and I was 10.

For some reason they did different things with her and said different things to her. My parents and grandparents had a wealth of old sayings and games that they did with my brother and I but not with her and I know May Day was probably one of them.

My dad showed me how to make my first daisy chain and I remember him plopping it on my head and saying, “Crown me mother, for I am Queen of the May!” and forever after if I got too big for my britches he’d say that to me and I never heard him say it to my sister.

I also have no idea where he got the phrase but it always reduced me to giggles and brought me down to earth.