Archive | September 23, 2013

Disney changing policy that lets guests with disabilities skip lines

http://www.latimes.com/business/money/la-fi-mo-disney-changing-policy-for-guests-with-disabilities-20130923,0,463601.story

Much as I love Disneyland and was thinking of going soon, maybe not. I already have a cane, they are just making it that much more of a barrier to a good experience. They should police the bad eggs not hurt everyone becasue some rich loser can’t wait in line.

TMI

I’ve had some sort of stomach bug since last Monday courtesy of my sister and her workplace. She told me one of her co-workers is in the hospital from it and that they are going to keep her through Friday. It started with a bad headache that isn’t a migraine and a queasy stomach and then the stomach part goes into high gear. If I had more PTO built up I’d still be in bed.

I resorted to one of my mom’s cures this morning. I have always been susceptible to stomach problems even before I got gastroparesis when I was in the hospital when I was 7. This was not a good situation for my mom because she is one of those people who can’t be around anyone who has to put it politely has a problem with emission control or emesis. One exit no waiting. And once I started as a kid I didn’t stop. I remember her making me weigh myself and I‘d lost 14 lbs in 2 days and that isn’t good for an underweight kid.

I was the kid that got carsick in 2 blocks and would get excited and lose everything, once when presented with my Easter basket before breakfast and I’m a projectile emitter. I can and have hit the can from 6 ft away.

So this week I tried everything in mommom’s arsenal. Flat coke since we don’t have coke syrup. 7 Up, tea and lightly buttered toast, English muffin. scrambled egg (I didn’t go for the poached egg, too sick to hunt up the poaching rings.) this morning I’m at work and breakfast was tea and toast and midmorning break I finally went to her last cure, a chocolate or vanilla milkshake. Specifically it was the chocolate one. So far so good. When I was a kid she’d sneak a raw egg in back before that was a hazardous thing to do. I resorted to Starbucks chocolate chip drink without the chips.

But to make everything wonderful our bosses decided to treat us to pizza for lunch and the feast is being set up by my desk. I’m allergic to pizza and the smell may set me off again. I’m so excited. I think I may take another walk over to Starbucks and see if a plain croissant works for lunch.

I’m so glad I got a stock dividend this weekend, all of $20 from an old job, so I bought gas and drove. No way I was getting on the bus after my trip home on it last Thursday. Barely made it home and almost redecorated the bus.

I’m just going to be a whiny baby. Did I mention I’m freezing?

My mother’s garden desperation supper

AKA
Zesty Cheese Vegetable Casserole

6-8 zucchini, sliced thin
2 medium onions, sliced thin
1 red bell peppers, diced
1 bunch baby carrots, julienned in vegetable oil
1 can of nacho cheese soup
1 can of zesty tomato soup
1/2 can of water (only is necessary)
Tortilla chips, crumbled

In a skillet over medium heat, stir fry vegetables in 2-4 tbsps of vegetable oil until tender crisp. Combine soups and fold into vegetable mixture.  At this point add water if desired.

Pour mixture into casserole, top with corn chips and bake in a 350 degree oven for 30-45 minutes, or until heated through and bubbly.

Serves 8

Mom invented this one night after the zucchini were going to take over the planet out of what was in the cupboards. It was that or start hiding them in people’s cars.