Archive | December 23, 2015

Yule cookie – Twin Nut Wonders

Twin Nut Wonders

½ cup butter
1 cup ground almonds
3 Tbsp powdered sugar
1 cup sifted flour
1 sq /oz of semi sweet chocolate
Finely chopped pistachios

Cream butter with sugar in bowl by hand or with mixer
Gradually sift in flour blending well
Stir in the ground almonds
Chill one hour or until the dough is firm enough to handle
Form tablespoons of dough into 2 inch fingers by rolling lightly on pastry cloth or board.
No flour needed
Cut in half lengthwise
Place cut side down on greased or foiled cookie sheet
Bake at 325 (slow oven) 15 minutes or until pale golden brown.  Carefully remove with spatula.   Cool on wire rack.
Melt chocolate in metal cup over hot water
Remove from heat
Dip end of cookie into the melted chocolates and then dip in the chopped pistachios
Put on waxed paper until chocolate has set.
Makes 3 dozen

Another old recipe from before calibrated ovens. I remember making these before pistachios were grown in the US, when they still came from Iran dyed with bright red dye or covered in a white coating of salt. I used to end up with bright red fingers from shelling the pistachios and sneaking them to eat because I loved them so much. Used to suck the salt off the shells too of the white ones if Mom didn’t catch me. Now I’m allergic to almonds so I could probably only eat one before it caught up to me but these are really good and one of my sister’s favourites.