One thought on “How We Got Rolled by the Dishonest Fascists of Gamergate

  1. When I participated in the “#YesAllWomen” movement, the only thing I got attacked on was my statement that only my female characters get harassed while playing WoW. This never happens with my male characters. This resulted in a series of responses that can be summed up as “You fat cow, why are you even playing games to begin with? Go outside and get some exercise!” I made one comment about gaming, and about 20 about other things. The gaming comment was the only thing that got a rise out of the trolls… and, it got a big one.

    Apparently, some men think of gaming as their last sanctuary of patriarchal power… like they have been backed into a corner, and now we are threatening to take even THAT away from them. That is nonsense, of course. There is a HUGE demographic of middle-aged women playing WoW. But, I guess, as long as we keep quiet…

    Fact is, if women suddenly stopped playing, it would impact the industry tremendously… not that I’m considering that an option, but, just sayin’…

    Like

Comments are closed.