Archive | September 1, 2016

Forbidden To See Each Other, Mumbai Lesbian Couple Attempts Suicide; One Dies

http://m.huffingtonpost.in/2016/08/31/forbidden-to-see-each-other-mumbai-lesbian-couple-attempts-suic/

DNA, Ancestors and Family in the World

I did the Nat Geo DNA testing and they just revised it to 100% European, 59% Great Britain and Ireland, 19% Western and Central Europe, 15% Scandinavian and 3% Eastern Europe, instead of the 4% Saami and Siberian they originally said.

When your get your results you can add it to another DNA site called FTDNA and that is when it gets weird because you get invitations to join groups based on your DNA results some of which went with family history like the MacFarlane and MacGregor family groups we already knew about since we have them on the family trees on both sides, but then I got one from a Polish group and I don’t know about any Poles anywhere. So I joined all the Scottish ones it suggested because I knew those were right.

It then tells you everyone you are related to that has taken the testing for several cousins out and they and you can start contacting each other. I just got a request from a 4th cousin in Sweden. My family left Sweden about 125 years ago. It’s kind of cool and kind of weird to know that I have so many relatives that I have never met and that they are all over the globe. So far I have a list of over 1500 people who are related to me by my DNA. My family has never been highly reproductive so that kind of blows me away. 1500 people that I have never met are my direct relatives. Wow!

We could only do the MT DNA test because there are no surviving males, my dad and brother were the last Y DNA Robbs on their branch of the family tree. His sister’s kids would only have MT DNA and his two brothers died before they could have children and his dad’s dad only had a sister.

When they do the DNA matches they start with those who share the biggest blocks with you and so far I don’t recognize any of the people that it says are my second cousins. My new 4th cousin shares a block of 28.

This is my haplogroup mtDNA      U2e1f and I haven’t seen any one on the list that shares that haplogroup. I like that it sort of looks like elf even though it’s e1f. Hey, maybe that’s how the alfar do their DNA, LOL!

U2e started out in Eurasia and North Africa. There is something about DNA testing and seeing the results that brings home that we really are one people and the differences are on the outside not the inside. Sometime way are back in history my ancestors may have roamed Egypt, Algeria or Libya or the Middle East. What stories would they tell? Who knows maybe I am remembering the BunniHoTep stories. Maybe one of my ancestors told those stories too.

Why did they roam so far and how did they end up in regions that were as far as you could go in Europe without getting on a boat which I suppose they eventually did because my family ended up in Los Angles in a climate not that far different from where they started.

I know some of the stories from the last few hundred years and so far they match what the DNA testing says but what about the ones further back? What were their stories? All I do know is that I must have relatives and ancestors who looked far differently than I look now. That any one I see on the bus or on the street or in the store could be related to me no matter what they look like. Makes me want to be kinder. That part of the Girl Scout Promise that says I’m a sister to every other Scout, is really true.