Archive | July 24, 2012

Oh my goddess! I haven’t laughed this hard on ages!

Happy Birthday Amelia!

When I was little my Sunday School had a kid’s book library and they had a series of biographies about famous people as children and then there was a chapter at the end about what they had done as an adult. I have no idea why they were in the church library because they weren’t specifically Christian but there were a lot of them all bound in red and I read every single one of them.

I had 2 favourites In the whole series. The one about Amelia Earhart and the one about Jane Adams. Of course the one about Jane Adams and Hull House never mentioned that she was a lesbian. I had to learn that as an adult but I was obsessed with the one about Amelia Earhart. I think I read it three or four times.

When I found out she had taken off from the Glendale airfield at the end of our street, I made Dad take me down there. It’s now a historical landmark that allegedly Disney says it’s going to restore since it’s down among their Imagineering buildings in west Glendale.

I have no idea who those books were by or when they were published but I thank whatever librarian introduced me to female heroes. There were also books about Clara Barton, Dolly Madison and all the usual male suspects, err… American heroes but the ones about the women were always my favourites.

Goddess Isis’ wings attended you on your last flight just as they will attend Sally Ride on hers, Ride Sally