Archive | October 23, 2006

My favourite nurseries in L.A.. Mind you they’re on the Valleys side of the hills not on the beach or west side.

My criteria for a great nursery. Plants that aren’t available at a chain nursery or box store. The plants are high quality. The staff is friendly and knowlegeable and let’s you alone if you want it. Lots of variety and stuff you can’t get at another nursery.

1. Sperling’s http://www.sperlingnursery.com/pottery.htm
I love this nursery. They have a great gift shop too. They have “vast tracks of land” with the added excitement of rattlers on a hot day. Lots of variety and lots of fun pots, fountains and garden statuary.

2. Burkard’s
Loved this nursery when I lived in Pasadena. Also the best herb and old rose selection of anywhere around.

3. San Gabriel Nursery
Another nursery with “vast tracts of land”. Their specialty is bonsai and lots and lots of seeds.

4. Steven’s but it just closed so they could build condos. I’m still upset.

5. La Crescenta Nursery
A nursery up in the foothills. The only one I know that carries a variety of helebores and lots of unusual plants.

6. The Armstrong’s in Pasadena. It’s more like when it was still called Rosedale’s and is big enough to carry a good variety. Plus it feels nice.

7. Green Thumb in Canoga Park
I became a big fan when they sponsored Pierce’s Hort program. Really good bulb selection and lots of variety and fun things to put in the yard.

.

Satyrsday we made another assault on Sperling’s Nursery. If you live in the L.A. area and you are a gardener this is a lovely nursery up in the oaks of Calabasas. I spent way too much money but I’m happy.

is happy because she came home with a pair of gnomes. One of which is our first female gnome. Hope she’s going to be okay. I got a another bunny and an ergonomic pair of bypass pruners because my professional pair sometimes kills my poor arthritic hands. I already have a great ergonomic trowel. We also got more dafs and narcissus bulbs and some primroses (2 kinds), cyclamen, salvia microphylla “Hot Lips”, some white polka dot plants and some I can’t remember now. Enough plants to fill a flat anyway plus the 1 gallon cans. Also planted the left overs from the last assault like the dianthus, pansy and the toadflax.

I had the best time playing in the garden, arranging things to my satisfaction and bugging Ali to come look. Watered everything and let it breathe. And just sat there on the bench we have.

The feeling in the garden has changed. It feels happy again. After Cam died and all we did was prune things and sweep I think it felt neglected. But in the last 2 weeks it has changed how it feels and it’s nice and like it’s glad to see me.

This kind of looked like it has an itty bitty bear paw at the end. Need a better macro I think.