Archive | December 21, 2012

Prayer for Solstice Day

As I walk surrounded by the chill air of December, may I feel cleansed and renewed.

May I be blessed as I walk in the clear clean light of Solstice morning

May I feel ready for new challenges as the year changes to the light from the dark.

I ask that nine signs of winter solstice protect and guide my way

Chill of wind awaken me

Morning light excite me

Honk of Canadian geese overhead inspire me

Warmth of friends bless me

Sharing of food nourish me

Love of family bless me and all who I hold dear

Sounds of singing sooth me

Long cozy nights refresh me

Candle flames enthrall me

May I be inspired to create for the enjoyment of those I love

Every day and every night

From nightfall through the breaking of dawn and all the day.

I’m a source of amusement to my co-workers

They think I’m a loon today. They keep switching from heat to AC in the building and when it switches I start sneezing until the temp or my body reaches equilibrium. This leads to sometimes 15 sneezes in a row. And it’s annoying as hell.

It’s even more annoying to know that when I go outside to get lunch it will start all over again if the temp is slow or the light is too bright. I’m not allergic to anything airborne except night-stinking jasmine so trying to explain to my co-workers that I am not sick just allergic to the temperature change makes me look like a nutjob. Luckily, sneezing is not controllable unless you have a fondness for snuff and I don’t. They’ve given up saying, “bless you”.

You think they would have gotten used to it over the summer when the AC kicked on over my desk but it seems to be a source of amusement like my random hiccups.

Yuletide Blogging Festival – Lemon Angel Pie

image

Beverley Robb’s Lemon Angel Pie

4 egg whites (large)
¼ teaspoon cream of tartar
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar ( superfine)
4 egg yolks
½ cup sugar
1/4 cup lemon juice
Grated lemon rind
1 cup heavy whipping cream  Powdered sugar to taste
½ teaspoon of vanilla

Preheat oven to 275 degrees (250 if using a glass pan)
Grease a 9 inch pie pan
Separate the eggs and return the yolks to the refrigerator
Let the whites come to room temperature
Beat the egg whites, cream of tartar and salt in large mixing bowl until whites are stiff but not dry.

Beat in sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time until stiff, glossy and sugar is completely dissolved
Put in pie pan and smooth top.

Bake for an hour or until the top shows palest tan.
Cool 
Not to worry if top cracks.

In mixer bowl, beat egg yolks until stiff and lemon coloured. Gradually beat in granulated sugar. Blend in lemon juice and rind. Cook in double boiler over simmering water, stirring constantly until thick, 5 to 8 minutes.
Set aside to cool.
Whip heavy cream, and sweeten with ½ teaspoon of vanilla and powdered sugar to taste.
Spread half the cream over the crust to the edge.
Spread lemon custard over the cream and top with the remaining cream.
Chill 4 hours or overnight.
Serves  6 This recipe may be doubled using a 9×13 pan.

My mom usually made the doubled recipe and it’s great for after a heavy meal like Thanksgiving or Christmas.