Archive | December 14, 2012

Still stunned

Tonight was really eerie leaving work. Usually on a Friday everyone is rather loudly wishing people a good weekend and chatting amd laughing.  There wasn’t a single person talking as they left the building, not one.

I got on the bus and people were silent until two loud women got on jabbering in Spanish and no one else still said anything. The women got off in two stops and quiet reigned again. That just doesn’t happen on the evening bus. The morning bus, yes, but not the night bus.

Tomorrow night is our public Yule ritual and I’m supposedly to be the Spirit of Light returning and all I can do is think of all the little lights that just got extinguished.

This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
This little light of mine
I’m gonna let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine
Let it shine.