Archive | December 8, 2012

Originally posted on Isiopolis:

I missed last week’s post because the company I work for has a big once-a-year warehouse sale and everyone in the whole company works the sale. I was either bagging purchases or sleeping all weekend long—so my poor brain just wasn’t up to post writing.

But I’m back now…and am thinking once again of Isis and of that lovely holiday tradition that so many of us are indulging in at this time of year; I speak, of course, of bringing a tree into our homes and decorating it with shiny ornaments and glittering lights.

The Egyptian Tree Goddess giving food and water to the deceased

The Egyptian Tree Goddess giving food and water to the deceased

What? Did the Egyptians do that, too? Well, yes and no.

The rather obvious reason for bringing in the Yule tree is to remind ourselves of the green life that exists even in this darkest part of the year when most plant life has either…

View original 696 more words

The recipes

Just an FYI, unless otherwise stated, all the recipes come from my mom and my grandmother’s recipe box or my great-grandfather’s bakery.